Populi Bewertungen

Populi

Cloud-basierte Schulverwaltung-Lösung für Hochschulen

4.6/5 (45 Bewertungen)
Emily D.
Mit Google übersetzen

Populi works great for our Montessori training programs

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 13.9.2019
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

We use Populi as a database for our prospective and current students, alumni, workshop attendees, donors, and general community members. We use it for marketing of events and courses, overall communications with our leads and community. We also use it to manage the academic requirements and assignments of our current students. It has overall streamlined the process of review of student work, communication and discussion between faculty and students, among students, and allowed us to consider distance learning models for our upcoming courses. Overall, the experience has been great!

Vorteile

Populi is very customizable, with great options to optimize its many functions for our unique organization. The developers and staff at Populi are extremely responsive and helpful, responding quickly and thoroughly to all of our many questions and requests.

Nachteile

As with any system, there are times when we run into functionalities that we would like and do not yet exist. I do feel like Populi is responsive and makes improvements based on features requests whenever possible.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Dean L.
Mit Google übersetzen

A Jack of all Trades for Education Management

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 26.11.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

This product was in place when I arrived in my role supporting it. It seems to be the choice of many smaller (< 300 student) post-secondary schools. It has served us well for tracking student records but there are lots of little annoyances that cause us to adjust our workflows in order to use the product. It would seem if you had no processes in place and wanted to follow their recommended ones, it would suit you well.

Vorteile

- Web based
- Easy to use
- API offers advanced access to data
- Customer service is responsive (the CEO often replies to requests)

Nachteile

- Tries to do too much - It handles Student Information well, but our finance department doesn't prefer it and our Faculty use it for tracking marks, but don't particularly like it as an LMS
- Data exports are limited - I had to code an application in PHP to work with the API to get enrolment information out in a usable format
- Roles are not customizable - We have student call teams who can only access basic contact details if we give them a staff role (which gives them too much access)

Verteilung der Bewertung

Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

7.0/10
Isaac B.
Mit Google übersetzen

Populi provides a solid solution for online learning

Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
Bewertet am 18.10.2019
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Overall Populi has been a very solid product for e-learning. Although it is not an elegant or beautiful UX, it gets the job done and would be a fine solution for any online learning needs.

Vorteile

Populi is a stable and decently feature rich platform of online learning. They offer the ability to create online lessons, quizzes, tests, embed videos, upload assignments, creature student and teacher profiles, line to resources, and nearly any other feature you may need for an online platform.

Nachteile

Compared to some competitors however, Populi is limited. It is does have a bit of a learning curve, the overall aesthetics are plain and lacking, it can be cumbersome to locate assignments or documents if the professor has not uploaded them in the right spot, and there is a user fee that must be paid by the institution (not directly by the user).

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort

Weiterempfehlungsquote

7.0/10
Jason A.
Mit Google übersetzen

Thankful for Populi

Bewertet am 3.4.2014
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Bethlehem College and Seminary is a small Christian college which sprung from Bethlehem Baptist Church and the preaching of John Piper. For over 10 years, Bethlehem Baptist had a non-degree granting institution. In 2009, after John Piper encouraged the leadership to launch a seminary, we realized that managing student data and finances would be critical. This began a search for low cost college management software that was designed for school with less than 500 students.

In 2009, there were few options. In addition to low cost and designed for small schools, we wanted a web-based solutions, because we did not have the resources or personnel to run our own servers. In addition, we are an Apple shop, and most all college management software ran on Windows servers.

Then we discovered Populi. With a flat monthly rate and a low per student monthly rate, Populi fit our financial model. In addition, Populi was web-based. This meant that we did not need to purchase any additional hardware, and all of our staff, faculty, and students were able to access the software without any additional client side software besides a web browser.

The Populi staff worked hard to help us transition our Excel files of student data into their database. They answered the phone in person and assisted us with all of our configuration. The website was simple enough that we learned on the fly. With any new venture, there are bumps and hiccups along the way, but we were able to work through those.

Over the last 5 years, we have grown at nearly 25% per year. Populi has seamlessly grown with us. They continue to improve the product and provide additional services, and so far, have not raised the price.

One recent improvement was additional Admissions applications. Since we are both a college and seminary, it was very important for us to have two different application processes. This solved a lot of headaches for us.

Five years later, this school is still very thankful for Populi.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Ozlen K.
Mit Google übersetzen

Great for small institutions

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 2.9.2016
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Even though, I had some trouble with pulling data previously with customer support we had overcome most of the obstacles. I believe with right training the program can accommodate most of our needs as small institution. I highly recommend populi to small institutions like us with an advise to inquire and receive proper training when you initial start using it. Don't hesitate to ask for training and make sure to allow your staff a time for training.

Vorteile

Accommodates small institutions with very reasonable pricing.
Customer support is very responsive to inquiries.

Nachteile

Learning how to use efficiently needs a proper training by Populi expert.
It is difficult to learn by self training through videos and tips.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

9.0/10
Alfredo P.
Mit Google übersetzen

Populi is simple, elegant, secure, intuitive, with comprehensive features and well documented.

Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
Bewertet am 22.9.2017
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

All possible

Vorteile

It is difficult to say; documentation is exhaustive and the product is very well crafted and incredibly intuitive, but perhaps customer support is probably one of the best I have ever experienced!

Nachteile

With Populi, you can manually request a backup of the complete database on a daily basis, which generates and lets you download a CSV file with all the data, which is a nice feature, but I really miss the ability to schedule it on a regular basis and perhaps have it transferred to a secondary cloud storage.

Mit Google übersetzen

Antwort von Populi

Thanks for the feedback, Alfredo! One note - you can schedule/automate backups using the API. We will consider making that an option without having to make use of the API. Thanks!

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Kim C.
Mit Google übersetzen

Overall it is an excellent product and serves us well.

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 12.10.2017
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Vorteile

It keeps improving and is more useful today than it was when we bought in (2011). They listen to feature requests from the users and try to accommodate. Service is prompt and helpful. They fix things or educate in how to use the software. The back up and reporting features are very helpful when we need to back track to find an issue.

Nachteile

Searching for something in help could be improved. It seems that sometimes you have to do a fair amount of searching to find the relevant page.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Sean C.
Mit Google übersetzen

Full-featured SIS for small colleges

Bewertet am 29.10.2014
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

We've been working with Populi for about 10 months at a small liberal arts college in Shanghai, China, and we've found it remarkably full-featured; its suite of tools -- it handles everything from online registration to interactive course shells to finances/student billing -- offers more than we're even using. Access to the system is based on user-roles, with roles ranging from student through system admin. Because it's web-based, it works anywhere (including in China) on a variety of browsers (we've used Firefox, Explorer, Chrome, Safari, Opera, and Midori).

I could go on. To get a sense of everything Populi has to offer, it's worth visiting their site. Before we started working with Populi, I researched traditional SIS systems and software, and learned that we'd never be able to afford it for a program our size. Populi is designed for colleges like ours, and the pricing is reasonable and scaled to institution size. Frankly, I it's hard to believe what we get for the money.

There are few drawbacks to using Populi that aren't common to other SIS systems. Among these, role-based access means that non-advising faculty aren't able easily to view course listings for a given term, for example. And few users have access to the full course catalog within the system. However, it's easy to export any of these sorts of things for sharing. More importantly, the user forums provide a place for feature requests, and these are often implemented, as the process of building and improving the system appears to be earnest and ongoing.

Finally, customer service has been great. We've made a few mistakes -- most recently, I managed to delete several months worth of teaching evaluations -- that the support team at Populi were able to help us recover from very quickly.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Mark L.
Mit Google übersetzen

Solid solution for small/medium schools

Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
Bewertet am 20.7.2016
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

This solution is smartly designed and offers all of the tools necessary to operate a small or medium sized school. We have about 300 active students in our system, at multiple campuses, with both online/residential students, and Populi can handle our needs well. A few features are lacking that would be of interest to larger schools, such as an integration that will allow batch processing for our F1 students in SEVIS, or in-depth form builders, but the core functionality is certainly there.

Vorteile

Good and reasonable pricing, well designed, easy to use, and excellent support.

Nachteile

There are a few features that we would appreciate, such as the ability to use the built-in video hosting without having such a high degradation of quality, but overall our experience has been positive.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

9.0/10
Kristen H.
Mit Google übersetzen

Great all-in-one SIS

Täglich für 1-5 Monate genutzt
Bewertet am 3.5.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Vorteile

This software is very intuitive, and staff, faculty and students have gotten completely up to speed in a very short period of time. Being hosted on the web means students and staff can log in from anywhere with any device and backups are taken care of automatically. The built in LMS features are really robust and have eliminated the need for google classroom, survey monkey, and other fixes we had been using.

I am also very impressed with the built in reporting; there are preset reports for clearinghouse, IPEDS, retention etc.. and the ad-hoc reporting tool allows for almost unlimited custom reporting.

The support staff team are very kind and responsive, and the data conversion from our old system was virtually painless. When searching for a new SIS we interviewed over 8 firms and are very glad we settled on Populi.

Nachteile

There are very few things we have found that we wanted that the system was not already set up to do, but for these you can always suggest product enhancements to the support team.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Shirley S.
Mit Google übersetzen

Populi is a good system for our school's needs.

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 3.4.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Vorteile

I enjoy the communications area. I find it very helpful for student contact. I REALLY like being able to use the Populi Dropbox to post emails from other sources to the students' records.

Nachteile

I'm still learning how to use Populi's finer points, which has been a challenge without the former user still on our property. However, Populi support is always helpful.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Grace B.
Mit Google übersetzen

User Friendly - Great Customer Service

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 1.10.2019
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Vorteile

So grateful for such effective software. Not only is Populi user-friendly and easy to navigate, but the level of customer service is unmatched. Pre-set reports are such a time-saver, and I'm loving all the new training videos/webinars. Would recommend this product!

Nachteile

Honestly, nothing significant enough to mention.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

9.0/10
Chris D.
Mit Google übersetzen

Populi Support is top-notch

Täglich für 1-5 Monate genutzt
Bewertet am 23.8.2019
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Vorteile

Populi is straight-forward in it's functionality and use. It is intuitive, which is a great help to new users. The integration between G-Suite, Populi, and Canvas with Single Sign-On works great. The customer support before and after implementation has been truly exceptional.

Nachteile

There are some limitations with email templates and financial/billing functions, but these have been minor limitations.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Donna H.
Mit Google übersetzen

Best Decision We Ever Made

Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
Bewertet am 18.7.2017
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Increased data reporting functionality and low cost.

Vorteile

It packs everything into a cost effective manageable solution for small to medium colleges. Student records, Billing, Financial Aid, Course Evaluations, Communications, Discipline, emergency text messaging, online course management, Library, Bookstore, Registration, and so much more.

Nachteile

That is very hard to say. I think the assignment grade release settings could be more granular.
Giving approved incompletes could be refined more.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mahala W.
Mit Google übersetzen

A great tool for colleges

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 26.3.2019
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

The software itself works great for our information and data retrieval.

Vorteile

This software works great to collect data and information and also take in information on surveys, or applications. Really it has a plethora of uses.

Nachteile

Their billing system is a little off on when they invoice you.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

8.0/10
Abdullah U.
Mit Google übersetzen

I'd give 6 stars if possible

Bewertet am 28.11.2016
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

We've been using Populi since 2013. When we started a new school, we searched for an affordable college management solution that can offer an integrated solution for our basic needs such as admissions, financials, library etc. Populi was our decision and we are extremely satisfied with the product. I used a number of similar software as a student, and I don't know as an administrator's perspective but in a student's perspective I think Populi is the easiest to use. The design is very clean and modern. I think the young students want to see stuff in a particular way. Redundancy is a big turn off. It's hard to explain but for example people don't want to click save for every step of their admissions. It's like these subtle thinks that you don't really think about but when you see it you makes you pleased. The designers at Populi does that. Mobile app is available and

Customer support is phenomenal. They answer fast and answer good, with screen shots and all. Fast and to the point. They listen. The users can request new features and see them getting worked on and implemented. Some users may find some features missing or hard to use and I understand that. But I can always say that, from my personal experience , the support team is there to help.

Pros: Customer support, price, design, extent of features, ease of use, frequent updates for new features.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Donna H.
Mit Google übersetzen

Best Student System for Small Colleges

Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
Bewertet am 6.12.2016
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Moving our Student management to Populi was the best decision for our small graduate school. Pricing is scaled to size. It is feature rich and has quickly become the center of our universe. The Populi support team was with us from day one. They converted all of our data and we have never looked back. The data reporting features are flexible and easy to use. This is the best decision we ever made.

Vorteile

This system was specifically designed with small to medium colleges in mind and it shows.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Chris D.
Mit Google übersetzen

Best choice for SIS/LMS

Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
Bewertet am 26.7.2016
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

We have loved Populi from the very beginning. Great program. Great support. Great choice for all your LMS and SIS needs.

Vorteile

Integration of the LMS and SIS. Ease of use. Video tutorials are great...keeps me from having to make them myself.

Nachteile

Waiting for a plagiarism integration.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mahala W.
Mit Google übersetzen

We use Populi for a couple of our separate departments websites and they like the ease of access

Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
Bewertet am 19.4.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Vorteile

The customer service and ease of use with setting up programs on our website has been tremendous. We can have settings however we want them .

Nachteile

We don't have any complaints for this software. It has been working great the couple of years we have used it.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Ohchang K.
Mit Google übersetzen

Recently, this software replaces my school's old Registrar system, and came out, "Successful!!"

Wöchentlich für 1-5 Monate genutzt
Bewertet am 17.11.2017
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

This saves my time, labor, and energy. Overall, I am satisfied with this software.

Vorteile

The two major uses of this software in my institution are managing student's academic progress and student's financial status. The simple feature of the program allows students to easily access their own account and manage those. And how the program presents the contents is also clean and easy-to-look; this is much better then the old program. Students wouldn't miss the critical dates for their academic progress and payments.

Also there are some aspects that helps communication between registrar office and students. Dashboard has "Alerts" "The Feed" "Events." And moreover, there is another tab next to dashboard tab, that is, To-dos. This shows the tasks that are assigned to individuals. So the combination of the dashboard features and To-do lists make communication really easy.

Nachteile

Well it is hard to find a particular part that I do not like. May be some other staffs from different department could find a feature they don't like. But for my use, this program is very well made.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

9.0/10
Kevin S.
Mit Google übersetzen

Starting From Scratch

Täglich für 1-5 Monate genutzt
Bewertet am 2.8.2019
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Very satisfied and have experienced a great deal of positive and helpful customer support. Really, no walks through a string of phones tree choices to get to someone who can help.

Vorteile

Going from spreadsheets to Populi was very easy. The system is very intuitive anticipating what data is needed in every screen during the progression of steps used to post student records and effect school administration. It is easy to move around and the data is partitioned in a logical array of tabs and input screens. The staff has a great deal of confidence in the accuracy of posting data and capturing transactions events.

Nachteile

Reporting of financial transactions make it cumbersome to reconcile and account for transactions.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Ozlen K.
Mit Google übersetzen

You get what you pay for and perhaps a little less!

Bewertet am 27.1.2016
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Pros
Easy to register, add students, course scheduling. Fast customer service however, not very satisfying responds.
Cons
It is not user friendly, very difficult to customize features. Even sending emails to selected students is a hassle. Adding meeting times to courses is awfully difficult and annoying. If you are a new, small institution and need statistics / have to be able to pull out a data any minute when requested I would not recommend this product. Our application information wasn't transferring to system and we found out after customer service that our application was not set right. The reason for that is Populi updated their admissions feature a while ago but our applications were not adopted to new system. So I had to enter age, gender, address, email etc manually for the each student in the system to be able to have an accurate data. No help offered for an error caused by their own management system! Again reporting features lack accuracy and not customizable.
For accreditation purposes I found this system not reliable, I will start looking for alternatives.

Mit Google übersetzen

Antwort von Populi

Hi Ozlen, I didn't realize how frustrated you were after our conversation yesterday! My apologies.

I don't remember discussing your difficulties emailing students or adding meeting times. I'd be happy to hop back on the phone to go over that with you!

Regarding applications, its true that we updated admissions a couple of years ago and released a bunch of new features. Applications that were set up before that time have to be tweaked to take advantage of the new features, but I'd be happy to schedule a time to work through that with you. I think there were only a few fields that needed to be tweaked, but lets set up a time and we can make sure its good to go!

Again, I'm sorry that you've had a frustrating experience. We'll be in touch to see if we can win back your loyalty!

Sincerely,
Isaac Grauke, CEO
Populi

Verteilung der Bewertung

Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Paul S.
Mit Google übersetzen

Shines for the Classroom, Great for the Blended

Bewertet am 6.11.2014
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

I have been using school management systems since at least 1992 and course management systems since 1995. Well over 20 years of a dozen different systems, including all of the big names.

I just wanted to formally express my delight with Populi.

I really believe that on balance, this is the best product I have ever used. It may not be as powerful and have the same smooth work flow as the major players, but for a small school with a limited budget . . . can't be beat. The school system side of the program is effective and has handled every need of our very small college and the ease of making transcripts has greatly lessened the work in my office. Populi really shines for course management and even our reluctant faculty have been able to benefit from the grading, assignment and attendance mods. We have a few faculty who have fully employed the Populi lessons section to make both blended and online courses. I have used it for both and the scope of `instructor variation' is ideal. The learning platform is complete, without being excessively demanding.

I am very, very impressed with the product. I actually enjoy using it for my classes.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Susan W.
Mit Google übersetzen

I love POPULI !

Bewertet am 7.11.2013
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

I have been using the system for 3 years now and it keeps getting better and better. I liked it from the beginning and it just keeps improving. The developers listen to their customers and add tools that make our life easier. The response time for questions or help is outstanding. There are many learning tutorials in the help section with instructions and videos to assist in the process of learning the system. When it comes to reporting, I find it saves hours when compiling IPEDS data. This year the reporting section was improved to the extent, it cut my research time in half.
There are parts that I do not utilize like financial aid only because we utilize a third party service.
End of the year 1098 T's are at my finger tips. I export the information in to excel. I have not figured out how to split the total tuition paid for those receiving Financial aid and 50% VA benefits that aren't reported on the 1098 T. Maybe being able to edit the totals would be helpful.
Would I recommend Populi to other schools? Yes, I cant see operating without it. The more I use it the better it is.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Brenda S.
Mit Google übersetzen

Overall this system is very good. We haven't even seen its full potential yet and already very happy

Bewertet am 12.3.2009
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Overall this system is very good. We haven't even seen its full potential yet and already very happy with the product. It is a huge improvement over our past system. I see us happy with this for years, particularly when we know the future features to be added.

Vorteile

The product is easy to use and intuitive.There is much room for continued growth both within our company and our ability to utilize all that populi will be able to do in the future. I am looking forward to the online applications and financial feature. Student access is wonderful as well.

Nachteile

The product sometimes seems more tied to a business information system that an educational system. The drop down menus get old quickly and are tedious to use particularly when entering dates and state information. It would be nice to have text boxes that pick up as soon as you begin typing.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung