GitLab

Vollständiges DevOps-Lebenszyklusmanagement.

Gesamtbewertung

4,6 /5
(864)
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4,5/5
Funktionen
4,6/5
Bedienkomfort
4,4/5
Kundenbetreuung
4,2/5

96%
haben diese Anwendung empfohlen
Sortieren nach

864 Bewertungen

Brad
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Einzelhandel
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

GitLab is a must for development teams

Bewertet am 10.7.2020

Vorteile

I love the Boards for tracking Issues in their life cycle. Customizable Columns and Labels make it quick and easy to see where an Issue is, giving a high level for management and the rest of the team, while having all the details and attached code branches and merge requests for the developer and stakeholders. I love how it's able to connect code from several projects to Issues, no matter where they live, so you can have as many boards and projects as you like! It's well put together and seems natural with everything I try to do organization-wise. Integrates really well with developers' workflows.

Nachteile

GitLab is always improving and enables you to request features, so if you want something, suggest it and they'll get to it! Sometimes that's a bit slow, but you can usually work around it.

Alejandro
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Internet
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

The best opensource tool for software engineering management

Bewertet am 26.5.2021

We're hosting all of our private code repositories on gitlab.com, using the issue tracker, merge requests. We also run our continuos builds and deploy directly to our Google Cloud Kubernetes Engine workloads.

Vorteile

It's opensource though provides a cloud based solution with a really good free tier. It allows integrating code repositories with issue tracking and continuos integration and continuos deployment

Nachteile

User experience could be largely improved. Searching and filters are a bit clunky from the UX point of view. Also bulk actions are only allowed at project level.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

Jira

Warum GitLab gewählt wurde

We wanted to have issue tracking, code repositories, merge requests and continuos integration/deployment all in the same tool.

Zuvor genutzte Software

Trello und Bitbucket

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

It was the best alternative for our budget, and it allowed us to use our own Google Cloud Platform account to run Continuos Integration/Deployment jobs
Matthias
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Transport/Güterfrachtverkehr/Schienenverkehr
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51-200 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 7.0 /10

Selfhostable alternative to GitHub

Bewertet am 13.1.2023

I have been using GitLab for several months and it has been a decent experience. It is easy to customize the platform to fit the needs of your team. While there are some minor performance issues, overall it is a solid choice for any team looking for an all-in-one solution for their development workflow.

Vorteile

GitLab is a valuable platform, especially for decentralized software development, as it is easy to keep track of open issues and discussions very similar to what you get with GitHub, with the benefit of being open source and selfhostable.

Nachteile

The interface may be overwhelming for some users and requires some time to get used to, especially if you're new to GitLab. In regards of UX, GitHub is quite a bit easier to get used to.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Source control is made easy with gitlab

Bewertet am 22.10.2019

We need to control our source code. We need to know exactly who has changed what line of code at what point. And git, nice though it is, needs a GUI. Gitlab provides us that GUI.

Vorteile

The software is stable.
Updates come out regularly.
SSO integration with our AD is very nice.

Nachteile

We are using gitlab not only for our source code, but also to control the configuration of all of our servers and firewalls. It would be nice if we could schedule scripts on gitlab to run automatically. We are now 'abusing' the pipelines for this purpose.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

Helix Core

Warum GitLab gewählt wurde

It's quite unfair to compare gitlab to visualSVN. Gitlab is an integrated issue tracker and source code management system.

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

The staff just wanted to use git and gitlab. We did not want to host in GitHub since we want to be in control of our own data.
Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Finanzdienstleistungen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Developer friendly CICD

Bewertet am 16.10.2022

Gitlab, it is the best CICD and Source control, I ever used. I feel it's even better than GitHub.
It makes our lives easier and convenient.

Vorteile

Gitlab offers excellent user friendly interface and has literally no learning curve. I love how its script is well organised and easy to develop. It supports docker for each stage, which creates us a stable environment for the builds and tests.

Nachteile

I cannot think of cons in Gitlab. Only thing is that the pipeline is just developer friendly, we could really use a interface to design the pipeline for non-programmers or new comers.

Nick
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

A top-tier source control system

Bewertet am 21.11.2022

Vorteile

GitLab is easy to use and makes processes and collaboration with colleagues a breeze!

Nachteile

There really isn't much not to like. I've used several other version control services, and GitLab is right up there with the best of them.

Maria
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer- & Netzwerksicherheit
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Gitlab review

Bewertet am 9.1.2023

Very happy to use Gitlab i use it daily and it makes my work flow faster and better

Vorteile

Very easy to manage any source code with the push and pull features and you can integrate it with many softwares which can make the process even easier. You can clone any repository and work in parallel with your coworkers which makes the work faster.

Nachteile

A little bit confusing when there’s any merge conflicts.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Gitlab review

Bewertet am 18.1.2023

Vorteile

I appreciate the user-friendly interface and ease of use. The convenience of quickly creating and managing repositories as well as collaborating with others is a plus. Furthermore, the integration with other development tools such as CI/CD and code reviews makes it a comprehensive solution for teams.

Nachteile

Documentation for build/pipeline processes related to CI/CD could be improved by providing graphical user interface (GUI) tools that are compatible with all major operating systems.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201-500 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 1-5 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Great software for project management, project integration and code development

Bewertet am 21.11.2022

Overall me and my team enjoyed working with this software. Also very good for personal freelance projects I do.

Vorteile

Can use for free in the beginning to test it. Can be used on most devices with internet connection.

Nachteile

In the beginning the interface is difficult to understand but with practice and with enough time it becomes easier

Kristijonas
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201-500 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 4.0 /10

Kristijonas review

Bewertet am 15.1.2023

I love gitlab, it gets the job done and is the best in the game.

Vorteile

i love Gitlab, it is the best in the game and can be either very simple or very complex if you need it to.

Nachteile

I mostly like everything, but I would add an easier way to commit your changes directly through gitlab, also create and edit branches.

Morgan
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Gesundheit, Wellness & Fitness
  • Unternehmensgröße: Selbstständig
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

A great hosted Git SCM solution

Bewertet am 18.2.2022

We were trying to have a central hosted repository SCM system. For issue management we normally use Linear, although for smaller projects we keep track of issues using the integrated issue manager. The product integrates seamlessly in the development workflow, implementing and enforcing best industry practices onto all the contributors of the project, and allows for quick deployments to production and testing with its integrated CI/CD system.

Vorteile

GitLab is a great integrated SCM, Issue Management and CI/CD solution which is a pleasure to work with. The tools feel very nicely integrated and cooperate very well. It embodies by default the best practices for code management and is developed by a company which has open source and transparency at its heart, thus reassuring that the product can be trusted, either as a SaaS solution or as a self-hosted solution.

Nachteile

The SaaS version of the problem has over the year suffered some issues; however these have been decreasing over time and the company has made a hosted experience on par of those of other SaaS solutions. The resource consumption of the product is not to be taken lightly; however for small teams it has a relatively inexpensive monthly server cost.

Istvan
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Gitlab: A Feature-full alternative to Github

Bewertet am 6.8.2019

We are utilizing gitlab to handle our code versioning and our continous integration and delivery pipeline. This includes our whole workflow from writting code to building it, testing it and deploying it to production.

Vorteile

- Excellent UI that is easy to understand: many of our developers are migrating for the first time from other software (github, bitbucket) and a constant comment is that the ui is intuitive and easy to understand compared to previous software. The transition is always smooth.
- Feature-full product: Gitlab offers a variety of features that I have found to be excellent and of high quality. The code-review process in gitlab is always smooth with the ability to resolve or re-open discussions, address specific comments or the whole of the discussion, the ability to suggest and even apply and commit code from the ui is also a huge plus. The IDE is decent and the file editor is also decent. The CI/CD integration with gitlab runners is smooth, the notification system is great. I get an email whenever a test fails. All from the gitlab ecosystem, i do not need to go to circleCi or some other provider for all of this, which allows the ui and experience to be consistent.

Nachteile

At this very moment there is no feature or issue that I have found to be detrimental to my experience.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub und Bitbucket

Warum GitLab gewählt wurde

At the moment of the switch, Gitlab offered free private repos. At the moment both Github and Gitlab have this feature; however, I would not switch back to Github due to the ecosystem i've grown accustomed to in gitlab.

Zuvor genutzte Software

GitHub

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

At the moment, mostly private repositories. Over time, it became a matter of more bang-for-the-buck: more features, a friendlier Ui, more polished software.
Marc
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Internet
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201-500 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Customizable management system for any project

Bewertet am 24.2.2022

GitLab is overall a better alternative to GitHub and clearly suitable for experts who already have experience in versioning processes. Especially for academic processes, in which small steps are important, versioning through GitLab is easy to integrate into technical work processes. Likewise the adaptability to own needs is extremely simple by the CI. Particularly when it comes to the area of machine learning, for example, the registry or the CI enables the integration and management of trained models or, through the integration of GPU servers, the training of these without having to use a new platform such as Google Colab.

Vorteile

GitLab is easy to use and offers a versatile range of applications. GitLab can be used not only for software development projects. Especially in the academic sector, institutions can use GitLab to persist the respective work steps and research data, data in general, and workflows. Version control is particularly helpful in this regard, as it allows each step of a work to be traced, and errors to be undone directly without having to do a great deal of extra work.
In addition, GitLab can be customized and the respective instances can be easily transferred to one's own infrastructure. The development team is also always open to new ideas and actually incorporates them.

GitLab is therefore not only suitable for software development, but for any form of project in which it is a matter of the step-by-step tracking of work steps.

Nachteile

GitLab can be quite overwhelming. It is particularly difficult for non-experts from the non-software sector to get to know the processes of GitLab, as GitLab is less focused on gamification aspects compared to GitHub. Therefore, a high level of preparatory work and expertise is required in GitLab. Likewise, GitLab is often very technical, which is understandable, but it would be quite conceivable that especially in the area of testing and CI, modular principles, like for websites, would be conceivable and desirable.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub und Google Drive

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

Compared to GitHub, GitLab is much more customizable and suitable for experts. Compared to Google Drive, the versioning principle is convincing. Google Drive as a pure data storage is insufficient for larger, more traceable projects.
Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2-10 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Awesome Git Service

Bewertet am 2.5.2019

Vorteile

GitLab is a great place to host git repositories - for both private and commercial use. With its pretty and intuitive design, GitLab offers a great experience to work with. Collaboration is managed in a really great way.
Their pricing is also amazing: it's mostly free to use. We've had multiple private repos on GitLab for years now and haven't had any reason to upgrade to a paid plan so far.

Nachteile

GitLab's customer support team is really slow at responding to support requests. However, since I'm on a free plan, that's okay and I think they probably allocate all of their support resources to their paying users - and that's totally fine.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub und Bitbucket

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

We first hosted all our repos on Bitbucket, but GitLab allowed us to add more users to our repositories for free. It also offered more integrations such as Sentry which was a big selling point for us. GitHub didn't offer free private repos at the time which was the main reason we went for GitLab instead.
Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computerspiele
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Very solid Git server

Bewertet am 18.7.2019

Very satisfied and will consider it also for the next professional projects.

Vorteile

The installation is pretty straight forward and easy. It's the only free git server solution I found that offers LFS support. We started our project without the support of Git LFS but as the project grew, we had to find a solution and transfer our repository to an LFS ready server. GitLab offered the perfect solution, allowing us to keep our existing SSH keys for authentication, existing LDAP users and transfer our existing project pretty easily. Since then, we never ran into issues and the server is running smoothly since the first day.

Nachteile

The server is based on RoR so it's heavier than a simple Git Server. You need to make sure you have enough resources to get it to run properly.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub und Git

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

SSH authentication + LFS, installed on our own server.
Matej
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2-10 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 6.0 /10

Version control for private companies

Bewertet am 20.6.2021

I find the interface a bit complex, but once I got my hands on it, I got used to it and I simply prefer it over Github.

Vorteile

The software includes version control, container storage, issue tracker, grouping and goals. All of these provides great experience for a developer.

Nachteile

I don't like the interface, it looks too professional. Something more playful would be highly appreceated.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub

Warum GitLab gewählt wurde

We needed to switch to private from open-source and Gitlab provided better pricing for the same functionality.

Zuvor genutzte Software

GitHub

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

Gitlab is more focused on private companies, meanwhile, Github prefers open-source, in my opinion.
Nicola
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Elektrische/elektronische Fertigung
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51-200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Very nice tool for DevOps teams and software development

Bewertet am 29.7.2022

I've been working with it for a long time, setting up CI and CD pipelines and using its versioning functionalities such as project management tools.

Vorteile

Gitlab really made my life easier when dealing with software development. Its features such as software versioning, project management and time tracking are very usefull and allow even big teams to cooperate smoothly and easily.
It is fast and intuitive in almos every feature.

Nachteile

Some things in project management are not perfect, such as issues filters, that sometimes mess up a little. For example, setting filters and copying the url not always results in perfectly re-setting same filters when navigating to that address.
But these are ordinary small bugs that do not affect the overall good quality.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

At the end of my research, gilab looked cheaper and a little bit more complete for CI/CD. Consider this was some years ago.
Andrei
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Internet
  • Unternehmensgröße: Selbstständig
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

A great free alternative to GitHub if you need large repos and teams

Bewertet am 2.4.2020

GitLab helped us solve all of our backup and collaboration needs for our large file projects. While we do have on-site physical backups just in case, GitLab is great at keeping the core files safe. On the physical backup we put big assets and on GitLab mostly the code.

If it wasn't for GitLab we'd be using GitHub for some projects only as certain files surpass their limit.

Vorteile

The biggest pro for us at JeFawk Games (me and my freelancing friends, not employees as stated) was the fact that it allowed for 1GB of space for free in private repos! Since we're working on games, we really needed the space and the privacy. This was from before GitHub was acquired by Microsoft and gave away unlimited free repos.

Time forwarding a bit and GitHub is giving out free private repos of max 1GB with the option to use the Large File Storage thing, which in GitLab you don't need to bother with as you get it by default.

It includes DevOps and a lot of other features that frankly we don't make use of.

It's just the much bigger space by default and up to 3 collaborators. GitLab is great! Although it does have some cons....

Nachteile

One of the biggest problem with GitLab is that their website is a bit laggy. You can wait 1 to 4 seconds for some pages to load.
Another issue is that we actually use the GitHub Desktop application to handle GitLab repositories and the setup to connect the application to GitLab is kinda clunky, more like to allow GitLab to be grabbed as URL. Wouldn't wanna go through that again, hopefully they already streamlined it as last time I did it was about 2 years ago.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Bürgerliche & soziale Einrichtungen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Great software wit a minimal but efficient design but can definitely use improvements

Bewertet am 3.11.2018

Best way to use it is to keep your gitlab organized is keeping pr's as functional as possible and not mashing 1000 changes into one pr. otherwise gitlab performance go down and so will the interest of the other people who review your merge request!!

Setting up gitlab to manage your software projects is child's play, and although the UI is minimal in design it which gets the job done but could definitely use some enhancements and that would make it a top tier no nonsense go-to-software-management-product.

Overall it is a great software. I am not aware of the quality of the customer service on the paid tier so can't comment on that. One can manage and maintain gitlab inhouse without needing any paid support.

I would recommend it without reservations to any and all software developing companies.

Vorteile

1. Free of cost
2. Highly efficient, does the job without uncertainty.
3. Never observed any downtime
4. Very frequent and proper updates to the software.
5. easy to maintain
6. can easily integrate with jenkins for Continuous Integration- Continuous Deployment.
7. Easy to setup and use, no support or setup or external teams required. Anybody with minimum computer skills can get this up and running.
8. easy integration with youtrack for issue tracking and merge requesting tracking

Nachteile

These are not very big cons, but I find them annoying and could definitely use improvement:
1. The edit description on an open merge request also shows up on the history. So If somebody were to make a 10 different changes to the title while keeping the
2. The code formatting in the description box is not too good. It can take several tries before getting it right.
3. There is no way of searching for something based on a line of text. For example if you were looking for a commit or a merge request but you only remember the
4. sometimes very challenging to go back and undo merges which are quite complex.
5. on a given pr, it shows icons of all the participants but doesn't say which participant did what... for example if 5 people have just viewed a pr and done nothing else even then it shows all of them as participants. It would be nice to have a feature which will only show activity by participant on every pr.
6. text based Search via ui is practically no existent. So if you search for something using a text which is part of a commit message, chances are it will not show up 100%.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 5.001-10.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Great Open Source Software!

Bewertet am 16.12.2018

The overall experience was good. It's highly recommended for companies who want host their code in their own infra and are ready to maintain the code hosting software itself

Vorteile

I use the GitLab Community Edition (CE) and the first thing I love about it is it's Open Source! I am a believer of Open source software! In my company, we host our own instance of GitLab CE and it's been smooth. We use it for source code hosting and for CI/CD. Source code hosting has been great. CI/CD is nice too. GitLab has all the features required by a code hosting software - groups, groups within groups, repos, role based access control for members. Members can also be grouped with names - helpful to create a group for a team and add members to the group and give access to the team/group. It has forking, SSH/HTTPS git repo access, Notification/Watch repo features. It also has lots of integrations. We use slack a lot and we have integrations with slack which GitLab provides, and we have configured it to get notified for different things, starting from commit pushes to pipeline failures. We also use the GitLab pages for hosting the Wiki site for repos. It's pretty neat! The GitLab CI/CD has the concept of runners which run the CI/CD tasks/jobs. Runners have tags, and you can easily use the appropriate tag in the config to run the task in the appropriate runner. We use different runners for different things like, pushing to a Docker registry (requires special permissions), accessing a prod DB/application, running normal tasks (scripts) etc. All in all, it's quite good

Nachteile

Although GitLab has lots of features. I do have some complaints about it. I hope that newer versions will make my complaints obsolete! Starting with the CI/CD, it's quite good. But it lacks some features and flexibility which we expect in the upcoming versions. Features like one CI/CD pipeline triggering another pipeline (not present in CE, not sure about Enterprise Edition) and things like grouping jobs in a stage. Also, the CI/CD UI is not very good. It has glitches, there's no auto refresh in all the UIs to show the status of a job - if it's successful or if it failed. The job UI also isn't very great, like, if the job names or stage names are big, it becomes tough to read. Also, when the job log is very big, it reloads the page when the job finishes and truncates the output of the job and makes it available for download instead. This can be good or bad, based on the use case. For us, it was mostly not a soothing experience.

Thiago
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51-200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Great for DevOps teams

Bewertet am 31.12.2020

Vorteile

GitLab has all the must-have features for complete development and deployment flow.
The easy-to-configure pipeline is a differential, mainly due to the possibility of installing the agent (GitLab runner) in our infrastructure.
Issue management and merge requests are excellent and do not fall short of your direct competitors.
I use the GitLab in the cloud (SaaS) and on-premises, and it supplies my DevOps needs and team collaboration on the code review process.

Nachteile

On bitbucket, it is possible to see in realtime when a coworker is reviewing the merge request (pull request). It would be great to see this feature on GitLab too. The Runner registration is a bit harder when using an automation like Ansible.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub und Azure DevOps Services

Zuvor genutzte Software

Bitbucket

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

The gitlab pipeline feature.
David "Teddy"
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2-10 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Best Value Suite of Software Development Tools

Bewertet am 7.5.2019

Vorteile

Gitlab has an extremely robust free tier with tools that go far beyond simple source/version control. We use the Gitlab CI/CD pipeline runner extensively, allowing us to not only use Gitlab for source, but also for our deployment/build pipeline. Gitlab also has the ability to manage Kubernetes clusters from the suite, which is super helpful. We also extensively use the issue board for tracking scrum issues, which includes time estimates. Gitlab used to be most popular for offering free private repos, and it still does, but these other free features make it an absolute home run. We use Gitlab for every project because of how great it's been.

Nachteile

The pipeline runner can occasionally be a bit buggy sometimes, but nothing critical. For example, if you prematurely stop one pipeline and immediately start another, it can take 10 minutes for the new pipeline to start for some reason. Also, the time tracking on the issue board does not automatically put the sum at the top of the column, which I find annoying - we built a small gitlab api integration to pull that info for us. They have been updating this feature recently, though, so it may be solved soon.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub und Bitbucket
Noel
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Finanzdienstleistungen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Powerful version control with a confusing UI

Bewertet am 13.10.2020

Overall I have enjoyed working with GitLab. Our build pipeline was very customized so that it matches the exact process we wanted, and when there is a build issue, the problem is easy to identify and correct. The UI is a bit cluttered and unintuitive but it just takes a bit of extra time to get accustomed to.

Vorteile

Gitlab has been a great collaborative tool for us which allows for very customize-able build pipelines and easy issue tracking. The ability to add comments to code snippets and open up un-resolved threads allows you to stay on top of suggestions. Having to manually resolve those threads on your code comments before merge means that you are unlikely to accidentally push code forward without addressing those suggestions. There are also a good number of settings that allow you to control options such as how you want to handle merge commits, giving you complete control over your repository.

Nachteile

The main issue I have with GitLab is that the UI can be confusing and unclear. I am not a fan of the stacked diff view when comparing code changes. Compared to another version control system like BitBucket, I find it a bit more work to sort through the changes in a merge request. It's something you get used to, but initially is a bit unintuitive and less enjoyable.

Marc Jhon
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51-200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

My two cents for Gitlab

Bewertet am 7.7.2019

From a developer perspective, gitlab shines when it comes to devops and developers needs for git integration. However I'd use different issue tracking tool with it, since the issue tracking that gitlab offers is pretty much lacking in some areas such as sub-task and etc. However It's still far superior against Bitbucket which I absolutely does not recommend

Vorteile

The integrated CICD is what makes this stands out for me.
The .yml configuration is powerful enough to access your servers from gitlab making every push you made build automatically.
Deployment Keys, Access token, its just way more powerful than github and much more UI/UX Friendly than Bitbucket.

Its also note to take that the pages are lighweight, you hardly ever feel the loading time. More top of it it's free.

Nachteile

While the git related features are astounding I feel like the Issue trackers are way more clunky to me.

The board is quite nice, you can drag items of it to different board categories, however. the lack of sub task for a task is killing me.

Suppose we have a feature task, I'd like to put a mini sub task under it so i can track all of it on one parent task. Just like how you can do it on redmine or asana. One thing that github is superior to gitlab is this area.

Vinicius
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Great, for Devs

Bewertet am 18.10.2019

For those who like a product with several functions, and know how to handle complex usability, I think it should be great. But it wasn't made for me, I lost myself easily, and it took a long time to do things that would be faster in other task managers. So I ended up abandoning the tool.

Vorteile

We use it to collaborate with the development and QA teams.

It's quick to create a ticket, measure time and sort the type of work from tags, and send it to the colleague who will do that work.

What is interesting is the grouping of several teams in a single project, without interfering with each other's issues.

What we used most was the drop down chart. The rush that it imposes, makes us work faster to try deliver what we plan, as the deadline get closer.

Nachteile

It is very chaotic visually, lot of functions are hidden in menus and submenus, I know that developers love it, but it didn't work in my team.