GitLab Erfahrungen

GitLab

4,6 (1.096)
Eine Bewertung schreiben
Vollständiges DevOps-Lebenszyklusmanagement.

Gesamtbewertung

4,6 /5
(1.096)
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4,5/5
Funktionen
4,6/5
Bedienkomfort
4,4/5
Kundenbetreuung
4,2/5

96%
haben diese Anwendung empfohlen
Sortieren nach

1096 Bewertungen

Lusia
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501–1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Tool für die tägliche Arbeit

Bewertet am 5.2.2023

Vorteile

Wir nutzen GitLab täglich im Scrum Projekt für unsere commits und Versionierung. Diese Funktionen sind super ausgebaut und erfüllen Ihren Zweck selbst in einem Team von 10 Leuten gibt es selten Probleme.

Nachteile

Integration in unsere tägliche Arbeitsprozesse war kompliziert

Anna Lena
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2–10 Mitarbeiter
  • Monatlich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 1.0 /10

GitLab hat sich bereits etabliert

Bewertet am 15.11.2023

Vorteile

Kostenlos, einfach, Versionskontrolle möglich, Teams ebenso

Nachteile

Es ist schwer Gitlab von der Konkurrenz abzugrenzen, zb Github. Gefühlt bietet Github sogar mehr Funktionen…

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub
Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Architektur & Planung
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 7.0 /10

Gut Lap Bewertung

Bewertet am 13.8.2023

Sehr gut keine Beschwerden

Sehr gut keine Beschwerden

Vorteile

Die Einfachheit das Preisleistungs Verhältnis .

Nachteile

Ich finde das dass Programm ein bisschen unübersichtlich ist.

Matthew
Matthew
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Powerful toolset that are available on premise!

Bewertet am 16.9.2021

I am happy with the toolset - very grateful to the gitlab community for the work done on this. It...

I am happy with the toolset - very grateful to the gitlab community for the work done on this. It allows small startup companies to create their own instance and manage gitlab CI deployment pipelines.

Vorteile

I am not constrained at all by a company like GitHub or Bitbucket. It allows my team to have faith that what we are working on - remains in house. For piece of mind - without using git native.

Nachteile

Difficult to setup for the uninitiated linux administrator. Administration and upgrades are also difficult to do.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub

Warum GitLab gewählt wurde

I needed to ensure that our repositories are private and held on premise.

Zuvor genutzte Software

GitHub und Bitbucket

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

GitLab is totally free and can be hosted on premise.
Lilantha
Lilantha
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201–500 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

GitLab Review

Bewertet am 26.9.2019

GitLab resolved our version controlling problems, code review problems. It helps to maintain our...

GitLab resolved our version controlling problems, code review problems. It helps to maintain our code standards very easily. We can setup It on our local server also very easily. It is free anyone can try it.

Vorteile

GitLab is a superb source code managemanet provide. It is free. We can install it in our privet server also. As well as we can use their server with a free account. We use git for version control. GitLab provides awesome support for version control. It is a very easy tool. Anyone can use it very easily If someone has no more knowledge about versioning but He can use GitLab very easy. We can maintain our Repositories/Branchers. User access level also there. Currently, We use GitLab. We maintain feature branches, dev branch, and master branch. Everyone does not allow to merge code to the dev branch. If someone add merge request to the dev branch, our one-person review code and merge. Then we use GitLab it is easy for us. GitLab provides superb dashboard it very easy to review code. It shows all code changes with file by file. Easy to compare. As well as we can compare two branches vary easy. It provides a clear, unique, user-friendly dashboard. GitLab also supports CI/CD process. It's superb we can recommend for anyone. If our commit has some conflict it shows how to resolve that step by step.

Nachteile

When I add a new commit. If the file is large/have many lines. It not showing code changes directly. It shows a message file has many lines cannot show changes that kind of message. Sometimes when we compare two commits. It not more clear. Some times confusing. If I show some file history only show commits. not showing code changes by commits. We want to go and check every commits to show changes.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub und Bitbucket

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

It's free. We can setup on our local servers. It provides an easy, powerful, clear, and userfriendly dashboard. Its same thing wants for version control. Its there on GitLab.
Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Source control is made easy with gitlab

Bewertet am 22.10.2019

We need to control our source code. We need to know exactly who has changed what line of code at...

We need to control our source code. We need to know exactly who has changed what line of code at what point. And git, nice though it is, needs a GUI. Gitlab provides us that GUI.

Vorteile

The software is stable.
Updates come out regularly.
SSO integration with our AD is very nice.

Nachteile

We are using gitlab not only for our source code, but also to control the configuration of all of our servers and firewalls. It would be nice if we could schedule scripts on gitlab to run automatically. We are now 'abusing' the pipelines for this purpose.

Babu
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Automotive
  • Unternehmensgröße: 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 7.0 /10

Close to the BEST

Bewertet am 7.2.2024

Vorteile

Its quite to easy to view stashed branch and some filter options in the repository. They can improve a bit to stay for the best in the market

Nachteile

At times , using the github & bitbucket in my project. This lags some feature which am seeing in the other repo cloud

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub und Bitbucket
Brad
Brad
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Einzelhandel
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1.001–5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

GitLab is a must for development teams

Bewertet am 10.7.2020

Vorteile

I love the Boards for tracking Issues in their life cycle. Customizable Columns and Labels make it quick and easy to see where an Issue is, giving a high level for management and the rest of the team, while having all the details and attached code branches and merge requests for the developer and stakeholders. I love how it's able to connect code from several projects to Issues, no matter where they live, so you can have as many boards and projects as you like! It's well put together and seems natural with everything I try to do organization-wise. Integrates really well with developers' workflows.

Nachteile

GitLab is always improving and enables you to request features, so if you want something, suggest it and they'll get to it! Sometimes that's a bit slow, but you can usually work around it.

BISWAMITRA
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer- & Netzwerksicherheit
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

GitLab: Next gen Collaboration Tool

Bewertet am 10.11.2023

Overall it is a 8.7 out of 10 experience, considering the average to be 5. It is better than some...

Overall it is a 8.7 out of 10 experience, considering the average to be 5. It is better than some of the platforms in many terms, but till lagging some level of scalebility.

Vorteile

It offers an all-in-one platform that includes version control, issue tracking, continuous integration, and more.
It excels at managing Git repositories, allowing for easy branching, merging, and version control.
It has robust access control features, allowing administrators to manage user roles, permissions, and project visibility.

Nachteile

It is resource-intensive, especially for larger projects or organizations.
It is hard to initially learn the tools and technologies.
The UI/UX is less tempting.

Hugues
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2–10 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

A great alternative to the giant.

Bewertet am 4.7.2023

Vorteile

Having our own git instance is a very good thing. We're know where our data is. (Self managed). Also, Gitlab have multiple integrations, and it is very great.

Nachteile

Most of our problems have been solved through the official documentation. But, we have some problems with performance that we're under it.

Colin
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Monatlich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 7.0 /10

A great solution for controlling your own source code.

Bewertet am 7.9.2023

Overall, it's exactly what my old company needed, given that I was given zero budget and no...

Overall, it's exactly what my old company needed, given that I was given zero budget and no attention.

Vorteile

GitHub charges for company use, and my old company wouldn't have paid for SCM no matter how important it was to our department. Thankfully, GitLab installed just fine on a VM we spun up internally, and that was all we needed. Our Git repositories, client websites, and configuration files had a home. I can use the Git CLI, and there's a convenient web interface and hooks for everyone else (including me when I didn't want to use the CLI).

Nachteile

Setting this up internally is a hassle. You need a VM and a valid SSL certificate, which is a fairly low bar for entry, but more than most products. Also, it does update fairly often, which I suppose is better than it not updating at all.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

My boss wouldn't pay for a GitHub business plan.
Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201–500 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 1-5 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Gitlab: Your source code manager

Bewertet am 2.11.2023

It promotes my productivity while coding, by helping in debugging the code with many excellent...

It promotes my productivity while coding, by helping in debugging the code with many excellent features and functions

Vorteile

I like the level of flexibility it provides and number of features to control my source code is really good

Nachteile

Some features of the privious version are missing and it's set up is really complex for new people

Vaishnavi
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Bildungsmanagement
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501–1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Kostenlose Testversion genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Impressive Data handling and learning tool

Bewertet am 27.3.2024

Vorteile

I been using this data visualization package for Python, and I'm really impressed with its capabilities. As a data analyst, creating clear and insightful charts is crucial.
This package has made that process smoother. I found the syntax straightforward to pick up, even for beginner.

Nachteile

The only area to see improved is mapping capabilities. While it can create decent geographic maps, I've had to use other tools for really robust geospatial visualization.

Dennis
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Automotive
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

One stop shop for planning, development, and operations

Bewertet am 12.10.2019

Making it easier to build quality into the software development lifecycle without sacrificing...

Making it easier to build quality into the software development lifecycle without sacrificing speed. Let the computers do the heavy lifting of building and testing the changes. Bake in DevOps best practices by default.

Vorteile

Integration of CI/CD and Kubernetes for easily developing and running custom apps. Fantastic collaboration features like discussions, visual diffing. Some of this stuff you don't even get on desktop apps that charge big bucks. Frequent updates that inch its capability and usability forward. Good documentation. Wonderful community, welcoming atmosphere, pleasant to work with all the employees I've encountered.

Nachteile

Sometimes things break. When things are broken, sometimes it can take some time to be fixed, if you're not willing or able to fix it yourself. One of the consequences of such broad scope and feature development velocity. It would be advisable to keep another copy installed separately for testing updates before applying them to the live edition, if your IT has the capacity to do so.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

Redmine

Warum GitLab gewählt wurde

Nicer user interface, more frequent updates, larger community, more features. Helm chart deployment gets me all the things I need in my Kubernetes cluster to develop and deploy any and all web apps (or run existing ones).

Zuvor genutzte Software

Redmine

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

Everything in one, better user interface, open source
Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Marketing & Werbung
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

A discrete item in your toolkit

Bewertet am 10.3.2020

It is easy to use and don't impose itself it's own way to proceed.

At some point gitlab.com had...

It is easy to use and don't impose itself it's own way to proceed.

At some point gitlab.com had big performances issues, it was very slow. Even posting a simple issue was a pain. Those issues got fixed and it is now very fast. In case of maintenance or temporary issues, they have a very transparent way of proceeding and we always receive alerts and/or post mortems.

Vorteile

You just forget about Gitlab. As it provide a whole devops toolkit, it integrates discretely in your workflow. It doesn't require training, and if needed for advanced use, it got an extensive documentation as any open source tool should have. The UI makes it easy to use without thinking about it. What you don't understand first, you'll find an usage if needed on day.

The fact it got integrated CI/CD is incredible. I am very reluctant to Docker technologies and wouldn't beat myself to deal with them, but I really like them the way they are integrated in the CI/CD: it makes possible to test the applications in a very efficient and simple maneer and improve the overall quality and security of my products.

Nachteile

What I really don't like is that, if it is possible do deactivate some feature of a repository because you don't use them, there are some that overload the UI and you cannot remove them because Gitlab use it as a way to make you upgrade to the next plan.

Corentin
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Internet
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201–500 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Git Super powers

Bewertet am 25.1.2021

I enjoy using GitLab everyday, whether it's at work or at home. It saves me lot of time with its...

I enjoy using GitLab everyday, whether it's at work or at home. It saves me lot of time with its CI/CD and allows me to have my private projects hosted on my own servers which is a must in term of privacy.

Vorteile

GitLab is an awesome tool to use everyday. It is simple and easy to install on premise. The free tier is enough for any small business / team.

What really makes GitLab stands in front of the competition are its awesome CI/CD workflows. GitLab CI is incredible, you can do anything you want with it from building your sources, checking your code quality, deploying your projects... It is possible to make connections between various pipelines and have multiple repositories connected together to build your final "big" project.

Nachteile

Even if GitLab is simple to use, it's a big piece of software that can sometimes become slow on the web user interface.
Moreover the review system is sometimes not so easy to use compared to other competitors. Hopefully their are great browser extensions that solves this issues.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub

Warum GitLab gewählt wurde

Needed better CI/CD.

Zuvor genutzte Software

Bitbucket

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

Free and open-source, easily host-able on premise.
Marc
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Internet
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201–500 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Customizable management system for any project

Bewertet am 24.2.2022

GitLab is overall a better alternative to GitHub and clearly suitable for experts who already have...

GitLab is overall a better alternative to GitHub and clearly suitable for experts who already have experience in versioning processes. Especially for academic processes, in which small steps are important, versioning through GitLab is easy to integrate into technical work processes. Likewise the adaptability to own needs is extremely simple by the CI. Particularly when it comes to the area of machine learning, for example, the registry or the CI enables the integration and management of trained models or, through the integration of GPU servers, the training of these without having to use a new platform such as Google Colab.

Vorteile

GitLab is easy to use and offers a versatile range of applications. GitLab can be used not only for software development projects. Especially in the academic sector, institutions can use GitLab to persist the respective work steps and research data, data in general, and workflows. Version control is particularly helpful in this regard, as it allows each step of a work to be traced, and errors to be undone directly without having to do a great deal of extra work.
In addition, GitLab can be customized and the respective instances can be easily transferred to one's own infrastructure. The development team is also always open to new ideas and actually incorporates them.

GitLab is therefore not only suitable for software development, but for any form of project in which it is a matter of the step-by-step tracking of work steps.

Nachteile

GitLab can be quite overwhelming. It is particularly difficult for non-experts from the non-software sector to get to know the processes of GitLab, as GitLab is less focused on gamification aspects compared to GitHub. Therefore, a high level of preparatory work and expertise is required in GitLab. Likewise, GitLab is often very technical, which is understandable, but it would be quite conceivable that especially in the area of testing and CI, modular principles, like for websites, would be conceivable and desirable.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub und Google Drive

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

Compared to GitHub, GitLab is much more customizable and suitable for experts. Compared to Google Drive, the versioning principle is convincing. Google Drive as a pure data storage is insufficient for larger, more traceable projects.
Jörg
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Tiefbau
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

A powerful foundation for any software development need, which is trivially self hosted

Bewertet am 28.8.2023

Despite my gripes with debugging and monitoring, GitLab is a mind blowing software offer with an...

Despite my gripes with debugging and monitoring, GitLab is a mind blowing software offer with an unbelievable feature set for a platform that is effectively free for many setups, not forcing a subscription or pro features by crippling its basic product but by providing additional value for paying customers instead of extorting users for critical features.

Vorteile

The pipeline system is by far GitLabs most important feature, though the extensive offering of supporting services such as project wikis, hooks and integrations make it a flexible control center for all needs of software development.

Nachteile

Debugging pipelines seems to be less than an after though, with minimal support and no indication of being in anyone's focus. Monitoring seems like a lackluster proof of concept released to the public, with many issues being ignored for years and all around extremely poor support unless the only thing you want to do is monitor the default setup for the default metrics in the default view.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub und Travis CI

Warum GitLab gewählt wurde

Stagnating movement, fragmented development, lack of project oversight/direction, and the wish to unify the different moving parts.

Zuvor genutzte Software

GitHub

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

Inability to host on premise
Peter
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Hochschulbildung
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501–1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Code repositories and version tracking

Bewertet am 10.1.2020

GitLab ensures our code is safe and secure, everything is version tracked, we can easily collaborate...

GitLab ensures our code is safe and secure, everything is version tracked, we can easily collaborate with other colleagues and allows for a good QA environment before launch.

Vorteile

GitLab allows users to easily store their code projects and files in a safe and secure environment, allowing easy collaboration amongst users.
You can import repositories from other Git tools (such as GitHub) with ease, GitLab also imports any version history and accompanying branches.
The ability to make certain repositories private is excellent, most similar git systems charge extra for this service.

Nachteile

The user-interface, though clean and responsive, can be hard to use and master. Especially for new users, training is definitely required.
The integration with interfacing tools is lacking, most systems (such as GitKraken) require a premium license to connect with GitLab.
User management can be complicated, as the user interface isn't particularly clear here, and the different levels of access aren't clearly identified.

Olivier
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

A serious contender in the Self Host GIT space

Bewertet am 20.12.2022

It's really nice to have it, and the fact they were the first to allow for free private repositories...

It's really nice to have it, and the fact they were the first to allow for free private repositories is a nice gesture

Vorteile

For us, it was crucial to be able to self host an instance to have it totally off grid and Gitlab delivered beautifully

Nachteile

A bit obscure to setup, and updates can be quite time consuming as we cannot do them as often as would be required by the project

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub

Warum GitLab gewählt wurde

GIT has a much better workflow for managing branches

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

Self hosting was key
Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2–10 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

A must have tool for every development team

Bewertet am 4.7.2021

Vorteile

Gitlab is simply the best version control and project management tool for any organisation, period! It has everything you need in a greatly priced package. It is my go to tool for my personal projects as well as used in every organisation I have worked with. I even tried to host their community version myself which was great. The documentation is well laid out, breaking changes are communicated well. Apart from this, the CI/CD functionality is easy to use, UI easy to navigate, reporting/labelling/tagging features are one of the easiest.

The free plan for individuals or small team covers everything you need.

Nachteile

None I can think of. I even like the new UI introduced recently.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub und Bitbucket

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

Availability of CI/CD before any other alternatives. Ease of use. Private repositories in free plan. Ease of working with in a team.
Matthew
Matthew
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Umweltdienstleistungen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 7.0 /10

An incredibly useful tool for version control and CI/CD

Bewertet am 16.9.2019

Having migrated a number of Subversion repositories to GitLab, its extended functionality compared...

Having migrated a number of Subversion repositories to GitLab, its extended functionality compared to the more simplistic approach of SVN has undoubtedly saved a significant amount of time.

Vorteile

GitLab comes packed with a number of helpful facilities for managing continuous integration/deployment tasks. The option to self-host a GitLab instance is also appreciated.

Nachteile

Comes with something of a learning curve and can take a while to fully introduce non-technical users to its functionality.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub

Warum GitLab gewählt wurde

Need for extended functionality, CI/CD support.

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

CI/CD functionality.
Damian
Damian
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2–10 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

GitLab is the best for its CI

Bewertet am 10.6.2019

Vorteile

GitLab CI is by far the most valuable feature of GitLab. Travis CI was the first one to offer a YAML-file based build system - but it's GitLab CI to make pipelines very flexible and expressive. While Travis was okay for most popular languages in open source projects. GitLab made it possible to run enterprise-grade pipelines with many stages, each having multiple simultaneous jobs. This, plus git repository, Docker registry, and several other tools, making it a complete solution - starting from an early development cycle, through build, to deployment and monitoring thereof.

Nachteile

Several pages perform bad, e.g. pipelines list in big projects. Some pages don't have search and sorting. These are minor issues though.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitHub

Warum GitLab gewählt wurde

Lack of proper, tightly-integrated CI.

Zuvor genutzte Software

GitHub
Piotr
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Best git management tool on the market

Bewertet am 24.8.2022

I was using GitLab for a year and a half and I have to admit that it was the best git management...

I was using GitLab for a year and a half and I have to admit that it was the best git management tool I ever used. Everything that is needed by the user is already built-in. CI/CD is handled brilliantly and can be quickly set up without a lot of training before. The whole app is intuitive and easy to use (especially if a user has some experience with similar apps). Documentation is big and contains not only facts but also examples, which allows saving a lot of time during debugging or introducing new functionalities. GitLab is well known around the internet, so community support is also good. If a user has some problem, it is probably resolved inside documentation or in one of the web forums. The flexibility of GitLab is huge. It can be easily adjusted to a company's needs without any problems. Processes may be set up differently in various projects and integration between them is almost seamless.
On the other hand, the price per user is quite high, especially on better plans, so GitLab can quickly become expensive in bigger companies. The second disadvantage is that some less-known tools cannot be integrated with the app. However, the list is being extended and devs are listening to a community so the more some app integration is needed, the more likely it is.
In my opinion, GitLab is the best git management tool I ever used - particularly because of CI/CD. If you can afford the price, it is worth it!

Vorteile

A huge number of features.
Intuitive and easy to use.
Extensive documentation and good customer service.
Flexibility of customization.

Nachteile

It can become expensive, particularly if the company has many users.
Some less-known external tools cannot be integrated.

Martin
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Cheap source code management tool

Bewertet am 21.2.2023

Perfect choose if you need cheaper and open-source source code managing tool.

Perfect choose if you need cheaper and open-source source code managing tool.

Vorteile

The most important feature is source code managing tool. App provides interface for GIT client. Creating a merge request is easy and you don't need to use console, it is possible to achieve this goal also on mobile! Another most important feature is CI/CD integration. Gitlab provides its solution to do this. You can define configuration and run tasks on GitLab runner, which can be easily installed on any server.

Nachteile

It provides a less functions than other software and a UI is a bit non modern.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

Bitbucket

Warum GitLab gewählt wurde

Cheaper product.

Zuvor genutzte Software

GitHub

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitLab

Cheaper product.