Carta

4,2 (58)
Eine Bewertung schreiben
Equity-Management-Lösung für öffentliche und private Firmen

Gesamtbewertung

4,2 /5
(58)
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
3,7/5
Funktionen
4,2/5
Bedienkomfort
4,0/5
Kundenbetreuung
3,8/5

83%
haben diese Anwendung empfohlen
Sortieren nach

58 Bewertungen

Mallory
Mallory
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501–1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Weitere für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Super easy to keep track of my stock options

Bewertet am 13.12.2019

Overall it is simple and easy to use and makes it easy for a company with a large number of...

Overall it is simple and easy to use and makes it easy for a company with a large number of employees to keep track of which people have which vested stock options.

Vorteile

Love how Carta automatically updates me as to when I have more vested options and shows a progress bar as to how far I still have to go for all of my stock options to vest.

Nachteile

No complaints but I probably haven't used this software at a deep enough level to truly find anything difficult or something to dislike about this software.

Joe
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Essential Tool in Equity Management

Bewertet am 29.1.2022

- Investor equity management
- Employee equity option management
- Cap table management
- 409A...

- Investor equity management
- Employee equity option management
- Cap table management
- 409A valuation

Vorteile

- In-depth knowledge database that gets you started quickly
- Easy to use interface that allows for efficient navigation
- Carta combines equity and salary compensation benchmarks and adjusts for size, location, industry
- Well structured reports, funding overviews, cap tables, and ability to create a data room for investors
- Free annual 409A valuation report

Nachteile

- Expensive for startups
- Salary compensation tool should be included in base subscription
- More comparative details with similar companies (benchmarking functions)

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

Shareworks

Gründe für den Wechsel zu Carta

- Ease of use of the platform / knowledge database for employees - Industry leader - Recommended by legal team and investors
Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Great tool, however one flaw

Bewertet am 3.6.2024

Vorteile

I love how we can get updates based on several other clients' comp data. This allows us to remain competitive.

Nachteile

I would love to see historical data. Ie: With existing employees who are brought in at an IC_ or MGR_ level, a couple of years ago, it would be helpful to see where they were brought in within the band (XX%ile) back when the market was showing that historical data.

Sho
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationsdienst
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501–1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 6.0 /10

Love-Hate Relationship with Carta

Bewertet am 10.1.2021

I have nothing else to compare Carta to, so I don't even know how to respond. On a positive note,...

I have nothing else to compare Carta to, so I don't even know how to respond. On a positive note, I suppose I can list 'Carta' as a skill on my resume, though I don't know whether I would want to deal with Carta ever again if I seek different employment.

Vorteile

When I have issues with this software (which is often), Carta's support team is usually very responsive and will work with me on the issue.

The software itself works fine, I guess, as it rarely has technical problems. The offered tutorial does help, and I appreciate the Carta team for putting the tutorial together.

Nachteile

Not very intuitive to use! A major part is requiring a good foundation in securities and stock options knowledge, which I clearly do not have.

One HUGE gripe I have with Carta is that there is no quick way to bulk update a set of option grants, but rather I have to go into EACH option grant, upload the document I need to upload, add a note of what I am updating, wait for 5 seconds for the update to occur, and repeat with the rest of the 1000+ option grants. I have been uploading/updating these option grants for a few days now while trying to do my other work, and I am still updating as I write this review on a Saturday evening. I don't know whether to keep on updating while cursing at the Carta screen, or just call it quits for the day. Also, the update generates an email notification for the option holders, and of course a good amount of them send me questions afterwards despite our team having already prepared a mass message for our Chief Sales Officer to send out that explains these notifications. I'm at the point where I'm inclined to curse out the next sales employee that asks me what these Carta notifications are for.

James
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Carta - all-in-one Equity management for privately held companies

Bewertet am 1.1.2023

5-star. I have a been a Corporate Securities Attorney for 20+ years (15+ years in house) and Carta...

5-star. I have a been a Corporate Securities Attorney for 20+ years (15+ years in house) and Carta is my favorite application for privately held entities. It has saved countless hours in spreadsheets, providing a turnkey solution that is accurate and easy to administer for the Board, Investors, and Employees.

Vorteile

Equity management is turnkey. Ability to share with our Attorneys and Accountants. Ability to quickly pull data and reports for outside Funds and Auditors. Self-serve option portal for Employees.

Nachteile

Some of the nuances are complex, but the Software works. It takes some training, but the effort is worth the time to keep all your Equities in a single ledger.

David
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Risikokapital & privates Eigenkapital
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2–10 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 1.0 /10

Imposible to use because its always so SLOW

Bewertet am 10.5.2020

The CEO's and law firms that use it seem to be happy with it, as an investor user, I literally...

The CEO's and law firms that use it seem to be happy with it, as an investor user, I literally cringe every time we get a new stock cert from Carta because it takes so long to do antying.

Vorteile

In theory, it should be easy to manage our portfolio of over 50 different holdings.

Nachteile

We are investors, not issuers. As investors, we have 3 big issues.
A). The site is SO SLOW, I literally end up e-mailing the portfolio company to ask for the information.
B) The UX for the portfolio is nonsensical. For example, if you accept a certificate, you are not taken to the holding,s rather to some summary page from which you then have to search for what you just accepted and if you are not in the right "portfolio", it doesn't show up.
C) Carta makes it very difficult for one to keep a backup.

Zeah
Zeah
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Krankenhausversorgung & Gesundheitswesen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Weitere für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Eshares to Carta

Bewertet am 29.8.2018

We started with Carta when it was Eshares. Prior to using this software we were tracking everything...

We started with Carta when it was Eshares. Prior to using this software we were tracking everything in an excel spreadsheet which was a complete cluster. Now we can easily pull reports for information on the shareholders. The only difficulty I have encountered is the lack of a report that my auditors will accept without manipulation from myself. Still way better than manual tracking.

Vorteile

The ease with which data can be entered

Nachteile

Reports for Audit purposes can be painful

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Medienproduktion
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Monatlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 5.0 /10

Simple But Gets the Job Done

Bewertet am 14.4.2022

Vorteile

If you're looking for a simple piece of software to track employees' options and their vesting schedules, Carta gets the job done. Employees will be notified as options vest over time, and can even simulate exercising their vested options.

Nachteile

The average person does not understand what options are, or how vesting schedules or exercising options works. Carta could improve this experience for users by perhaps incorporating basic explanations of terminology into the software (ie: with info buttons next to certain terms). This would certainly give users an increased understanding of and sense of control over their financial assets.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Konsumgüter
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201–500 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Stock Options Made Easy

Bewertet am 14.11.2018

Vorteile

Carta helps us track all of our company's stock options in one place, providing simple reports and instant changes to our cap table.

Nachteile

Changes to Stakeholders now require more steps than they did in the previous format, it is a bit more time consuming when making a lot of changes.

Emily
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Gesundheit, Wellness & Fitness
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für 1-5 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 5.0 /10

Best in class?

Bewertet am 20.12.2022

For how large and popular Carta software is, I expect a higher level of support and functionality.

For how large and popular Carta software is, I expect a higher level of support and functionality.

Vorteile

Carta is very convenient if you want your employees (and ex employees) to be able to track their vesting over time.

Nachteile

We've had issues with several aspects of Carta:-onboarding - we were not set up with the right vesting schedule and several employees that were terminated in our system are now showing as continuously vesting-customer support - when these issues were brought to Carta (and in our eyes, fairly urgent) it was extremely slow to get a response. Our issue took several weeks to resolve - even though employees had access to the system and could see incorrect shares.-functionality - I would love the ability to input more information on our equity program for employees, but the system is not as customizable as we'd like.

Rob
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Finanzdienstleistungen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501–1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Huge timesaver, great value and has improved continuously over time

Bewertet am 21.6.2019

Vorteile

It solved a hugely expensive problem very easily (I used to have to manage our cap table in excel, print out paperwork and issue my own stock certificates. However, every time I look at software options, I was stuck going back to the same system. Using lawyers is truly insane cost-wise, so we manged it in-house. I talked to users of all competitive products and every single one noted errors in those products that led to board-level action and highly expensive fixes. This is NOT something you want to mess around with. Carta, however, was FAR superior to all other options in ease-of-use, accuracy of data, security, rapidity of product development, and ability to scale along with our company. They could make any adjustments needed without the needs for costly external counsel or board interaction.

Nachteile

When we first started using it (nearly 5 years ago), we found a few bugs in accounting reporting on edge cases (we had a couple outlier cases unusual for a company of our size at the time ). The Carta team quickly made adjustments to their software to resolve the problems however (and have continued to respond quickly to feedback).

Luke
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Finanzdienstleistungen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1.001–5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Weitere für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 0.0 /10

IPO was a debacle

Bewertet am 21.5.2021

Vorteile

The pages were easy to navigate and well laid out.

Nachteile

Carta’s handling of the Affirm IPO was a debacle. I believe that Affirm no longer works with Carta as a result.

Every employee’s sell order was accidentally canceled on the day of the equity release. Carta did not have any alerts system, and did not notify affected employees for a month. Some employees were left tens of thousands of dollars worse off than had the error not occurred.

I would generally be concerned about the quality of their software. Amusingly, one employee had $50K worth of stocks go missing from their account. Carta’s software engineers had to deploy a bug fix for these stocks to be visible again!

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Internet
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung

Once top shop for cap table management

Bewertet am 12.7.2018

Vorteile

Very easy to use
Option grants to employees are all done through the software
There are reports for all our needs, from stock based comp calculations, min disclosure for financial statement audits, etc...
Customer support is top notch. Chat feature allows you to live chat support team with minimal wait time.

Nachteile

Reports take a very long time to populate and the files can be extremely large. Some report files are over 20 MB's

Margaret
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Great tool for equity management

Bewertet am 15.11.2022

Great for cap table management. Customer service is also excellent.

Great for cap table management. Customer service is also excellent.

Vorteile

I like that it is commonly used in tech companies so many investors are already comfortable with it.

Nachteile

Some functionality is difficult to locate and the help function references a different version of the software than i have.

Kevin
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501–1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Great App for Managing Private Equity

Bewertet am 4.12.2019

Overall, it's been awesome using Carta. It's a great tool to manage private equity. I'd highly...

Overall, it's been awesome using Carta. It's a great tool to manage private equity. I'd highly recommend this.

Vorteile

- Keeps track of multiple companies in a singular account
- Great data visualization tools for exercised vs. vested, etc.
- Repository for pertinent documentation

Nachteile

- Mobile application is lacking some features that the web app has (i.e. documentation repo).
- Sometime difficult to understand the workflow required to accomplish a task. There are multiple ways to do the same thing, which can leave the user feeling a bit lost at times.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Finanzdienstleistungen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2–10 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Work on the ease of completing deals

Bewertet am 11.12.2022

Vorteile

It saves time and effort by giving up tiring spreadsheets that consume a lot of time and require a lot of manual operations. When I encounter a problem, Carta support team is usually quick to respond and works with me to solve the problem and is also easy to use, which makes work on developing data with high accuracy

Nachteile

I don't really have a complaint about Carta other than that it's hard to back up

Adam
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Internet
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501–1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 7.0 /10

Great Program

Bewertet am 30.6.2021

I use for equity tracking for grants of RSUs and options

I use for equity tracking for grants of RSUs and options

Vorteile

Love this to track options, RSUs and shares. Support is also helpful and does its best to answer questions.

Nachteile

The commissions on sales are a bit over the norm for a retail brokerage-type program. Especially bad if you have small lot sizes

Enrique
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Unterhaltungselektronik
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

For a Start-up, this is a great tool to manage your equity

Bewertet am 13.11.2018

Overall, Carta Equity Management allows us to track and record equity along with sharing the...

Overall, Carta Equity Management allows us to track and record equity along with sharing the information with the employees. It also provides us the reports to book the quarterly stock based compensation.

Vorteile

Carta is fairly easy to navigate, as the administrator I can answer questions employees may have as far as vesting and their options.

Nachteile

Some of the reports are not easily identifiable, you have to select the options you want when running the report.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2–10 Mitarbeiter
  • Monatlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 0.0 /10

Carta does everything to avoid providing service and still charges a premium

Bewertet am 13.10.2022

Most of the time I don't know they're there, because I don't need them. When I do need them, it is...

Most of the time I don't know they're there, because I don't need them. When I do need them, it is a consistently horrible experience.

Vorteile

I don't find the software to be very intuitive or helpful. It does appear that the people behind it know the business domain, but beyond that I can't say much for it.

Nachteile

Their customer service is impossible to reach, and when you reach them very unhelpful. They clearly don't value their customer relationships. They check in periodically to see if they can upsell me to add-on products that aren't useful to our business.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Weitere für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 7.0 /10

Simple way to manage equity in a startup.

Bewertet am 30.7.2019

Vorteile

It's easy to see when I can exercise shares, and it's easy to see my current holdings.

Nachteile

It's such a bare website. I would like some more features, maybe educationally-focused links and ways to track the value of the shares, if there is any information.

Filippo
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Darstellende Künste
  • Unternehmensgröße: Selbstständig
  • Wöchentlich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Buono strumento

Bewertet am 21.12.2023

Nel complesso la mia esperienza con Carta è positiva e non riesco più a farne a meno

Nel complesso la mia esperienza con Carta è positiva e non riesco più a farne a meno

Vorteile

La semplicità di utilizzo e l’ intuitività sono sicuramente due dei punti forti di Carta!

Nachteile

Al momento non ho riscontrato nessun aspetto negativo (a mio riguardo e per l’uso che ne faccio)

Frank
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Einzelhandel
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Great Cap Table Management and Scenario Modeling

Bewertet am 29.4.2020

Overall, I am very happy with Carta.

Overall, I am very happy with Carta.

Vorteile

I love having an up-to-date Cap Table at all times and being able to model exit and funding round scenarios quickly. Integrated stock ledger and 409A valuations are a plus, too. I plan to implement investor and board communication into the platform this year.

Nachteile

I wish the scenario modeling provided optionality around convertible notes. But the file outputs allowed me to manipulate the data once in excel very easily. And they were presentation ready.

Alan
Alan
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Weitere für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Easy way to manage stock options

Bewertet am 24.9.2020

Overall I have had a positive experience with Carta and am glad it exists to easily manage stock...

Overall I have had a positive experience with Carta and am glad it exists to easily manage stock options.

Vorteile

Their documentation and blog are very helpful in understanding all the terms and nuance of stock options.

Nachteile

There is nothing that I don't like - the software does a solid job servicing our need for managing stock options.

Jeff
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Finanzdienstleistungen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Monatlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Step by step and very informative

Bewertet am 17.7.2018

Vorteile

I like how for every piece of information, Carta has detailed explanations for it. It's great for new people who are not familiar with how option grants work.
Interface is clean, and I like the different animations when you sign or purchase grants.
Also like the monthly email about the vesting progress.

Nachteile

Don't really have any problems with the software. I am just a user of the tool with very limited permissions. There is not much I can do on the site.

Ben
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Non-Profit-Organisation Management
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2–10 Mitarbeiter
  • Weitere für 1-5 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Easy way to monitor employee stock options

Bewertet am 8.11.2019

Overall, Carta has been a useful tool for managing and visualizing my employee stock benefits.

Overall, Carta has been a useful tool for managing and visualizing my employee stock benefits.

Vorteile

I'm not a finance expert, nor a lawyer. That's why I like Carta so much for managing my employee stock benefits. It keeps all the records and information in a single place that I can access easily, along with helpful guides and tutorials for what everything means.

I also really like the interactive vesting schedule/option exercise calculator. They are both quite helpful in visualizing stock benefits.

Nachteile

I don't really have a complaint about Carta other than I wish it integrated with other employee benefits platforms, like Justworks. Obviously Carta is much more specialized than Justworks, and there are probably legal/security reasons it is separate, but it would be cool to have everything in one place.